The Shangra-las "Give Him a Great Big Kiss"

“Leader of the Pack” was their #1 hit (November 1964), but I prefer this ripper, which I discovered through the cover version by the incomparable Johnny Thunders. This song and “The Train from Kansas City” are to be played at my funeral.
I was always more attracted to the Shangri-las because they just seemed tougher than the more polished girl groups of Motown, etc. but their image was probably bullshit staged to go along with the imagery envoked by “Leader of the Pack”. They were from Queens, though…
Mary Weiss, the smile sneering frontwoman of the Shangri-las, still plays shows in more civilized and germane parts of the world like Mallora, Spain and mostly around her hometown. (I feel myself unworthy of becoming one of her 12000+ myspace friends.)
“He’s good-bad, but not evil” would be a fitting epitaph for me as well. Grind a cigarette into my grave with a stiletto heel.

Leave a Reply

