Sam McPheeters on what the economic crisis means for independent music

What does the economic meltdown mean for subculture?

I would love to see a real thinning of the herd, and seeing less bands and less shows. That would be wonderful. I don’t think there are that many people who aren’t teenagers who really enjoy going to shows these days. There’s just too much stuff. Every large city you go to has these telephone poles covered in faded fliers that have stapled there by bands that are never going to go anywhere, by people who aren’t particularly creative, who aren’t amazing songwriters. That is a direct result of the 90’s, when this country just had too much money. I would rejoice if there was a drastic reduction of the American underground…People’s self-delusional capacity to continue in the face of economic adversity I think is much stronger. I know that because I was in that position more than once. I’ve been on some tours where everyone felt it was completely futile, but we had that feeling that our artistic integrity was on the line. I think for people younger than me are still laboring under the illusion that things matter. “

from this fantastic interview

Leave a Reply

